About

Quality & Expertise

Geohazards Engineers and Geologists discuss projects in conference roomWe believe in empowering you. While it’s true that engineering and geology projects are often intricate and complex, your project doesn’t have to be. Our goal is to make your life as easy as possible. At Geohazards, we believe in transparency, flexibility and accessibility – you’ll always know where your project stands and always be confident you’re getting the right answers quickly. Have a question? Call us! We’re real people who enjoy listening and can’t wait to work with you. Geohazards Staff performing field work and testing  


Our History

Since our inception in 1985, Geohazards has had a mission of caring for our clients. Our humble beginnings started in the Geology Department at the University of Florida, where our founders mentored future geologists. Their love for education and counseling naturally led to a company culture of personal service and thorough, thoughtful engineering and geology solutions. Geohazards has at its core a deep-rooted culture of people first. Stop by and meet our team!

Geologists Drs. Anthony F. Randazzo and Doug Smith performing field work circa 1970s


Our Team

B.S. Civil Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology 2007 Master in Construction Management 2010

Email Sam at:
spolena@geohazards.com

Sam Polena, P.E.

Owner/Director of Engineering

B.S. Biomedical Sciences, National University of Health Science 2010 Master in Public Health, Benedictine University 2012

Email Roena at:
rpolena@geohazards.com

Roena Polena, MPH

Owner/Managing Director

BS Geology, University of Florida, 2007 FL P.G. 2795, GA P.G. 2182

Email James at:
JOlson@GeohazardsInc.com

James Olson, P.G.

Director of Geology & Geophysics

Bachelor’s in Accounting, Loyola University, 1989 Master’s in Business Administration, Florida Atlantic University, 1991

Email Anne at:
abenton@geohazards.com

Anne Benton

Director of Finance and Human Resources

BS Civil Engineering, University of Florida, 2009 Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering, University of Florida, 2010 Florida P.E. 77743

Email Toni at:
twebster@geohazards.com

Toni Webster, P.E.

Engineering Manager

Bachelor’s of Building Construction, UNF, 1973 BS C.E., UNF, 1978 MEng. in Soil Mech, UNF, 1980 PhD in C.E., UNF, 1983 FL. P.E. 37235

Email David at:
Engineering@geohazardsinc.com

David Bloomquist, P.E., Ph.D.

Senior Geotechnical Engineer

BS Geology, Clemson University, 1995 Florida P.G. 2302, Tennessee P.G. 5586

Email Gerald at:
jblack@geohazards.com

Gerald Black, P.G.

Senior Staff Geologist

B.S. Civil Engineering, University of Florida 2010 Master of Engineering Civil Engineering, University of Florida 2011

Email Chelsea at:
cberube@geohazards.com

Chelsea Berube, P.E.

Engineering Assistant Manager

Bachelor's of Fine Arts, University Of Florida, 2002

Email Meia at:
admin@geohazardsinc.com

Meia Paré

Operations and Scheduling Manager

B.S. Civil Engineering, University of South Florida 1997

Email Michael at:
msmith@geohazards.com

Michael Smith, P.E.

Forensic Structural Engineer

B.S. Geology, University of Florida, 2016

Email Jake at:
jberry@geohazards.com

Jake Berry

Staff Geologist

B.S. Geology, Minor Anthropology, University of Florida 2016

Email Will at:
wskipper@geohazards.com

Will Skipper

Staff Geologist

B.S. Environmental Science, Minor Soil and Water Science, University of Florida 2011

Email Karen at:
kroylos@geohazards.com

Karen Roylos

Environmental Scientist

M.B.A. University of South Carolina 1999 B.S. Civil Engineering, The Citadel 1997

Email Warren at:
rjohnson@geohazards.com

Warren Johnson, P.E.

Forensic Structural Engineer

MSc in Analysis and Design of Earthquake Resistant Structures, National Technical University of Athens, Greece 2013

Email George at:
gtatsis@geohazards.com

George Tatsis, E.I.

Forensic Structural Associate

B.S. Civil Engineering, University of Florida 1998

Email Chris at:
chayes@geohazards.com

Chris Hayes, P.E.

Forensic Structural Engineer

B.S. Geology, University of Florida, December 2020

Email Joshua at:

Joshua Solt

Geological Technician

Email Daniel at:

Daniel Goch

Geological Technician

Ph.D. in Geology from the University of North Carolina Professor Emeritus at the University of Florida Florida Professional Geologist License NO. PG3

Email Anthony at:
TRandazzo@GeohazardsInc.com

Dr.Anthony F. Randazzo

Founder/Consultant

Ph.D. in Geophysics from the University of Minnesota Professor Emeritus at the University of Florida Florida Professional Geologist License No. PG18

Email Douglas at:
DSmith@GeohazardsInc.com

Dr.Douglas L. Smith

Founder/Consultant


Press


Our team is often interviewed for television, radio and news articles. If you are a member of the media and have an inquiry, please get in touch. We’re happy to try and assist.

Contact Us For Details

Careers


If you are interested in joining a top-shelf team of earth engineering experts who enjoy their work, enjoy their clients and most of all, enjoy working together, then please get in touch. We’re delighted to meet you.

Send Us Your Resume

TRACK YOUR PROJECT

Track your project via the Geohazards project tracker. Take a test drive to see how it works.

Test Drive